I Hope They Call Me on a Mission!!

I can’t believe they are engaged. Sure, I saw it coming about 30 minutes after he stepped off the plane from his mission, but this girl was not part the game plan seven months ago. There goes my best friend since the day I joined our family down here on earth.

The dates all align, the financial situation is working out in amazing ways, I have the perfect personality for it and to make things in my life even more confusing, my college semesters end and commence in the most perfect time window. Wow, I want to serve a mission!

Them girls be droppin’ like flies, I laugh to myself as my Facebook feed is plastered with the ever so important ‘Got Engaged’ status updates. These always seem to include the elaborate setup featuring lights, usually a bouquet of flowers on a fancy table cloth, some cute Pinterest burlap and a’candid’ picture- the guy down on one knee. How adorable.

Am I ready for that step yet? Hmm…not exactly, whatever, I’ve got the Spring Semester to figure out what path I am taking.

My mom just pointed out to me that I could potentially join the family when my older brother and his fiance get sealed together in the LDS Temple, well that seems like a pretty neat thing to be a part of. This all only works out in life IF I am serving a mission.

In comparison to the rest of the United States, the number of 18-21 year old’s currently living in my local town has got to be statistically skewed, I could be out of this town too….IF I am serving a mission.

I keep scrolling.*sigh* “Dear Elder/Sister so and so, you are hereby called to serve as a missionary of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, you are assigned to labor in the”–wait, them too!? But I remember they skipped Seminary that one time to go study for an A.P. Test! I can’t believe they would think of serving a mission.

Whoa there dude, better go repent for that judgemental comment.You aren’t perfect either, but you can develop closer Christ-like actions IF you serve a mission…!

Calm down, breathe, you are fine. I tell myself as I close my laptop. How come Heavenly Father isn’t sending me any confirmation to serve abroad?

I spent the weekend in Provo with my High School buddies, the freshman ward sure was different from the ward I remember back in Rexburg, yet, something is always exactly the same. The warm feeling of the Holy Ghost and the happiness that comes from Jesus Christ’s Gospel.

I made some new friends during my weekend stay at BYU. Many of them were preparing for their missions, many were talking about where their friends are serving and then there were some other girls that were adorable. Though these ladies knew what they were doing was the Lord’s plan for them, they never seemed to be beaming about next semester!

Turns out there actually are girls who aren’t engaged and how have decided to continue their education rather than embark on an ecclesiastical sojourn. Who knew? Just kidding, I knew they were out there somewhere in the world.

Something I’ve noticed quite frequently lately is an attitude of almost embarrassment for not serving a mission. It is not typically a discussed embarrassment but rather a look of sadness in ones eyes.

I find myself often times asking what’s up with this social pressure everyone, the brethren keep telling us that as sisters it is our choice and that is a decision that is between us and our Heavenly Father, nobody else.

Missions are amazing experiences. The vast majority of my friends are serving currently or have mission calls or are in the mission papers process currently, I know that the Lord calls us to serve in specific places at specific times because He knows much much more than us.

Sometimes I feel like Troy tumbling through the halls of East High having a complete breakdown: “I don’t know where to go what’s the right TEAM? I want my own dream, so bad I’m gonna scream!”

You know what, though, things always work out even though growing up is scary. Since I’ve moved back to college after a few months in my Utah hometown, my understanding of God’s plan for me has opened up significantly, my faith in the future is brighter than ever and I have found peace in serving others through my major, through YSA ward friendships, my callings and other simple yet impactful things.

In the LDS church’s manual Preach My Gospel it quotes: “We are commanded by God to take this gospel to all the world. That is the cause that must unite us today. Only the gospel will save the world from the calamity of its own self-destruction. Only the gospel will unite men of all races and nationalities in peace. Only the gospel will bring joy, happiness, and salvation to the human family” from President Ezra Taft Benson.

While this fast-paced world may be spiraling out of control, the foundation of Christ still remains.

Jesus Christ’s church is real and has been brought back to earth here in modern times, I know this for myself because I have chosen to try out some of the things that Jesus taught about in the Bible. Loving others, Keeping the Commandments, and so much more.

I sure hope they call me on a mission. This formal call may not be assigned for many years, but that is O.K. and definitely does not make me less of a daughter of God, and hey! Someday I get to choose my companion for all the transfers life may throw at us…together.

CTR everyone!

 

 

 

Nicole

Leave a Reply

