Brochure

Outside of Brochure
Outside of Brochure

 

Inside of Brochure
Inside of Brochure

 

Both sides of Brochure together
Both sides of Brochure together

 

Video Showcase:

Description:
A two sided trifold brochure in full color.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills):

I started this design by sketching many different idea’s and labeling a piece of paper very specifically so that I knew which frame would represent each area of my brochure. I began my trifold design in Adobe InDesign through using specific ruler guides, measuring and making sure that each frame would work out nicely.

I used colorful boxes and bars throughout the brochure to create repetition and flow. I chose to use vibrant images of food to tie the design elements into the message.

For the image of the blueberries I used the ‘quick selection tool’ in Adobe Photoshop to remove the background of the image. I then used the ‘refine mask’ dialogue box to smooth, feather, shift edge and apply contrast to the outline of the berries. The changes I made in the ‘refine mask’ dialogue box made a softer image that didn’t look so sharp and cutout against the brochure’s background. I then ‘placed’ the blueberries image into InDesign where I used the ‘text wrap’ option to wrap my text around the ‘alpha channel’ of the image.

I created the logo in Illustrator using the pen tool and then I placed it into InDesign. The company name is actually french and means: Food for Reflection or in other words “Food for Thought”.

Programs/Tools Used:Adobe InDesign/Adobe Illustrator/Adobe Photoshop

Message: Inform the general public about Nutrition including some basic things they may have not thought about around this subject.

Audience: Individuals seeking general information in regards to nutrition.

Top Thing Learned: I learned how to wrap text around an image in InDesign along with how useful it is to use ruler guides.

Color scheme and color names: Split Complementary, Teal, Red and Gold

Title Font Name & Category: Josefin Sans / Sans serif

Copy Font Name & Category: Lora Bold / Old Style

Word count: 429

Thumbnails of Images used:

 

StrawberryHoangVanBreadKenLawrence UnsplashPomegranate IsraelEgio UnsplashGrandparentsBenchPicNataliaBariani UnsplashCarrotsHarshelHirveBlueBerriesBrandonWilson Unsplash

 

Sources (Links to images on original websites):

https://unsplash.com/photos/9uwYzO4TLLw

https://unsplash.com/photos/twg_5G1SZ8Y

https://unsplash.com/photos/SHJMuYQSRn8

https://unsplash.com/photos/rouwHMSWmp0

https://unsplash.com/photos/2eFgPIEoBsA


5 thoughts on “Brochure

  1. I enjoyed your brochure and loved the colors you decided to pick. They really stuck out and I felt brought your whole design together. I really liked your use of the picture cutout and how you wrapped the text around the blueberries. I also liked all of your other pictures and felt that the colors in them worked well with your color scheme. Your information wasn’t too overbearing either. I really liked it!
    Check out this brochure: https://tannerwaitedesign.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/project-8-brochure/

    Like

  2. I really like your brochure! It is colorful which makes it interesting and pulls the attention of the audience. Your image cutouts look really nice. Way to go! I really like the way you set up your brochure. Your text looks really nice. It all looks very clean and organized, just like that healthy diet.

    Like

  3. I love your brochure! I love the colors and pictures that you used. Everything looks nice and professional. I also really like your logo. It is simple and nice. It is easy to see, I know what I’m looking at and it looks really professional all over. Nice job!

    Like

  4. Great job Nicole! Your design looks great! The images look really nice and your color scheme ties in well with them. You did a good job of maintaining that color scheme throughout your brochure. Your project also looks very neat and professional which contributes to your message of health and nutrition.
    Check out Tanner’s project here https://tannerwaitedesign.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/project-8-brochure/
    and mine here https://abbysimmonsblog.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Like

Leave a comment